Skip the Ship

The following post will probably generate a lot of hate, but I feel the need to put this out there.

Players on Orien that run with me regularly all know of my “crazy” tendency to decline ship invites.

It’s not that I don’t have an airship of my own, I do.  It’s my little Stormglory Bolt with everything painted RED.. at least, until they offer a couple of black stains to make my airship mimic the Crimson Moon’s appearance (see The Tide Turns in House D).  And I do have a few buffs on there – Ninja Assassin, the Black Abbot, and the Bath House.  The cargo hold is empty except for the tavern (easy spell changing), guild chests, and a device workstation.  And you know what?  I’m proud of that tiny airship.  That’s my airship.

Sure, I could upgrade it.  But for as often as I swap the Bath House temporarily for the Green Steel or Cannith crafting halls, it’s not a priority.  And I could put more buffs on board, but I don’t feel the need to.

I don’t knock anyone for taking an invite to a Daedalean Kraken and coming out with five paragraphs of six-hour-long buffs.  Personally, I find that “line of boxes” across the top of the screen irritating to no end, and usually can’t wait until they run out (on the rare occasion I actually take them).  Mostly, if I jump on someone else’s ship, it’s only to grab a 5% experience buff and head back out.  And even that still feels like I’m “cheating” on my airship, Serenity.  (#browncoat4life)

There is a reason for this behavior, as bizarre as it sounds.  After all, in a game where one of the primary goals is to improve one’s character and make them more powerful, why wouldn’t you want free power that lasts for hours?

To answer this, I’ll rip a quote from one of my favorite movies of all time, Heat:  “It keeps me sharp, on the edge, where I gotta be.”

When I was still a noob – not a “newb,” they’re different, and yes I’m properly using the derogatory one to refer to myself – I used to watch other noobs use their (then-capped) Level 100 guild ship buffs like a crutch to gloss over holes in their gameplay.  In between every quest was “re-buffing” in some form.  Nowadays, that’s less of an issue with multi-hour buffs that don’t wipe on death, but the crutch still remains, almost more so because of their duration.  My belief is that your toon shouldn’t need to rely on ship buffs to be awesome:  you can build an awesome character that’s completely devoid of buffs.  The buffs should be just that – boosts to take your character into temporary godhood.  If your ship buffs run out and you start outright panicking, you might want to take a good hard look at your build and/or play style and ask yourself why.

To reiterate:  I’m not knocking folks who use airship buffs.  I don’t think that “shippers” are lesser players in any way, shape, or form.  I’m merely explaining why I don’t.  This will probably generate a lot of hate, but that isn’t the intent.

When your toon is built to not rely on ship buffs, it doesn’t matter if they run out or glitch out for whatever reason.  95% of the time, if my three run out, I don’t even notice it until someone asks if I want to run back and get an invite to their Level 9,000,000 guild ship for buffs.  No, thanks, I don’t.  I’m fine without them.  And please stop assuming that because my guild is a lower level than yours, I automatically want an invite.  (Major pet peeve, there – if someone doesn’t ask for an invite, please stop repeatedly sending them.) Some people use self-imposed rules to “add challenge” to the game;  if nothing else, consider my account-wide near-ban on ship buffs my own self-imposed rule.

I don’t use ship buffs because it keeps me sharp, on the edge, where I gotta be.

4 comments

  1. A fine option. Just as I play single-classed characters to push my skills with their abilities to the limit, using fewer buffs is a good test of maintaining character discipline. Before Update 22, that’s what we all had to do when the one-hour ship buffs died. From that point, I could see a lot of changes to game play with other party members. Sure, Batman could design and use a force field, or add flight to his suit. But would this be best?

    Liked by 1 person

Tell Tholgrin how you really feel..

