Shaggro

It happens to us all, at some point or another.  You get all prepared, ready to rock and roll, sidle up to a quest entrance, and get the dreaded Red Window message.  It happens, and the odds of it happening seem to increase exponentially if you just-so-happened to have joined a PUG.

Asking for a share the second you join a group, before even a hello, is a fast way to incur grousing and influence people (badly).  Even more so if you accidentally ask for a share on a walkup quest – that’s pretty much an instant branding of NOOBSAUCE all over your toon’s forehead.

I call it “shaggro.”

Here’s a tried-and-true method I’ve learned throughout my time with DDO to both get you the share you need and the completion you’re looking for, without carrying around a virtual Scarlet “L” on your face.

Step #1:  Don’t ask for a share right away.

Yes, that’s right.  Don’t ask.  The vast majority of quests can be “red windowed” or “red doored,” that is, entered even if you don’t have the quest in your log so long as someone else in the group does.  Enter the quest as a red window – trust me.  This also has the added benefit of keeping walkup embarrassment at zero, since you’ll get it when you walk to the quest entrance and won’t look like a complete buffoon due to “premature ask-ulation.”

Step #2:  Be Patient!!

I cannot stress this enough.  If you’ve joined a pick-up group and the party is not already full, the odds are pretty strong that someone else will join the party – and pretty strong, again, that they’ll ask for a share.  As a share is not person-specific in that it gets sent to every party member, you can simply piggy-back off their share request, quietly, and nobody is any the wiser.  (Unless the person who shared it looks in their General log and takes the time to notice your name didn’t show up on the “already has this quest” list, that is;  and even if they did, you still score points for not asking for a share right out of the gate.)  Win-win scenario.  Pro-Tip:  If you do get called out on it, just laugh it off.  “Hey, so-and-so, you didn’t have the quest either?”  “I guess not, lol.”  End of interrogation.

Step #3: The Mid-Quest “Oh, Snap”

Even if someone else doesn’t join the party, for whatever reason – the group is full, unpopular quest, quiet night, what have you – or ask for a share, you can still save face.  Don’t ask for it as soon as you step in.  Wait until a pause in the action, such as a quick trip to a shrine, waiting for an NPC to blather on.. you get the idea.  Then, casually pop into the party chat something apologetic to the effect of:  “Oh, snap, I just checked the log and forgot to pick up the quest.. I don’t suppose I can get a share?  😀”  Obviously, it doesn’t have to be verbatim – really, any statement which is apologetic, silly, and somewhat self-deprecating will work.  Man, I’m such a noob, I didn’t notice it was red doored… I can haz share?  is another good one.  The key point here is that there’s already an investment in the quest and you and your new party members will have had a few minutes to feel each other out before asking.  And that makes all the difference.  Sure, you might get joked on a little, but it’s loads better than having to recover from a lousy first impression.

 

As long as you get the share before the quest is completed, it doesn’t matter if you did 99% of the quest without it in your log;  you’ll still get the full completion and full XP and end reward.

Think of shares and PUGs like aggro management – if the caster hits the target and pulls aggro right away, it’s a lot harder for the rest of the party to pull the target off him.  With shares, it’s the same way – wait until your “shaggro” is firmly established within the quest, and suddenly it’s not such a big deal when you poke it.

May the Host save you if you pull shaggro right off the join, however.

P.S.  That does sound like a good name for a bearded devil in Shavarath, doesn’t it?  Shaggro the Devil?  ^_^

5 comments

  1. Hm. I typically take a third option: I check my own quest logs before I join any party.While I suffer from some altitis as many others, I keep a good sense of what quest chain progress I’ve made for each character. Often I’m the one that’s asked for a share, which I gladly do since I’d like others to play.

    What I don’t like are players who are clearly careless or lazy. While I shouldn’t draw too much from people who are too lazy to write (“share plz”), such truncated communication is often a harbinger of doom for a PuG. “Share plz” suggests a player that is immature, that may have a faster playstyle, or has never played a tabletop game to understand that some others enjoy the storyline in a quest. A person that writes in stunted abbreviations may not even bother to communicate throughout the quest, causing friction to the rest of the party that may have been working on optionals while the non-communicative player zergs ahead.

    Your idea is more accommodating to avoid embarrassing moments. I’m trying to always group with people that dare take the time to prepare before they commit. If they cannot bother to take a few minutes to verify that they have the quest, then my experience suggests that often they’re also ill-prepared for the challenges inside. If “share plz” wanted to hop in on a VoN 3 (Jungles of Khyber) run, I might reject him on suspicion that he’s not going to work as a party or have the needed weaponry and some self-sustaining resources like potions. If you can’t take time to communicate, what else are you not going to do as a party member?

    I know this borders on a type of prejudice, but even the slightest indication of laziness to me makes my ninja-sense tingle. In contrast, a person that uses voice chat and asks for a share is more trustworthy to me. They communicate and respond. That guarantees nothing in terms of good gameplay, but generally these players seem more prepared than “share plz” guy.

    Like

    1. I suppose you could say that the posted method is more for the “stable” player who is just having an “oops” moment avoid…. well, exactly that train of thought 😀

      I try to be prepared as much as I can, but sometimes my alt-itis or desire to hop in on a run before it’s too far in gets the better of me.

      I’ve known some party leaders that will go so far as to boot anyone whose first words are asking for a share.

      Like

      1. I guess I’m getting older or rude, but I sympathize more with the brutish party leader that kicks someone who asks for a share…for the very reasoning I’ve already stated. If you can’t bother to pick up the quest (it costs nothing but a few moments) what other laziness are you going to do while in the quest? I’m far more likely to actually share out the quest than kick (which I’ve never done) but then, I don’t typically create PuG parties.

        Like

      2. Oh, no, I totally get it. And Slappy McZergface isn’t going to take the time to read this.. which is why I posted it as a “how to avoid getting shaggro when you honestly make a whoops.” ^_^

        For me, the source of the problem stems from playing &$$# toons, and I can’t keep track of what all of them have active.. and, admitted, a touch of my own impatience.

        Though I’ll be the first to grouse when someone asks for a share on a walk-up more than once.. and that’s happened. “Share plz,” “It’s a walk-up.” “Share?” ……(hovers finger over dismiss button)

        Liked by 1 person

Tell Tholgrin how you really feel..

